Community

General and Everything Else => The Games and other Sierra Adventure stuff => Topic started by: MusicallyInspired on December 20, 2006, 04:01:51 PM

Title: King's Quest II SCI Remake (unfinished - source released)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on December 20, 2006, 04:01:51 PM
This will be to KQ2 AGI what KQ1 SCI was to KQ1 AGI. The first few backgrounds I've made were almost exact traceovers of the original AGI screens. But I'm working on getting some background artists to help me by sketching some brand new recreations that I can trace over to make it more like what the KQ1SCI remake was. I've already begun redesigning some screens on my own.

Website (http://brandonblume.commerceculture.co.uk/kq2new/main.html)

Forums (https://planetwilco.net/kq2sci/index.php)

Current progress:
Overall: 0.5%
Graphics: 1%
Scripting: 0.5%
Music: 0%

(http://brandonblume.commerceculture.co.uk/kq2new/pictures/sci3_2.png) (http://brandonblume.commerceculture.co.uk/kq2new/pictures/sci48_5.png)
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: jtyler125 on January 14, 2007, 08:38:49 PM
Yes,  I actually saw that back a few months ago on a different site when I was looking for hints on how to program....it looks good.  How is it coming?
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on January 15, 2007, 09:43:47 AM
It's been on a bit of a hold the past few weeks as work and school are really taking up a lot of my time. It'll get done, though.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on February 15, 2007, 01:51:05 AM
Made a bit of progress on room 35. How do you like the tree? It's been giving me headaches. I'm also going to chagne the shape of the water pond thing there...looks wrong.

(http://brandonblume.commerceculture.co.uk/kq2new/pictures/room35_tree.png)
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: Cloudee1 on February 15, 2007, 04:50:38 AM
The tree looks nice, but... it's light source is on the right, while the light appears to be coming from the left on everything else. The tree might look perfect if it were flipped horizontally.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on February 15, 2007, 11:54:28 AM
Actually, the light source is coming from the right. That shadow on the right is from the mountain on the right. It'll make more sense, hopefully, when the rest of the picture starts to shape up. If the tree wasn't under that shadow there'd be brighter colours on the tree.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on June 07, 2007, 11:29:30 PM
Here's a demo of the title screen that I've just finished with the great help of the people on these forums! The goal was to make it identical to KQ1SCI's title screen. See if you can point out any differences between this and KQ1's menu.

-BTW, clicking on any of the buttons will just quit the game at the moment. This is so I don't have any old demos floating around the net.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: Doan Sephim on June 08, 2007, 12:46:18 AM
Nice title screen! Excellent work!!
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: troflip on June 08, 2007, 11:33:50 PM
Looks great!
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: Collector on June 09, 2007, 02:11:26 AM
Looks good, but is there any reason that you used an Arabic number 2, instead of the Sierra traditional Roman II? Not saying there is anything wrong with it, just curious.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on June 09, 2007, 12:15:25 PM
Someone already asked this question elsewhere. The reason I'm not using the roman numeral "II" is because Sierra's King's Quest 1 remake didn't use it either.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: OmerMor on June 09, 2007, 03:25:36 PM
Cool job MusicallyInspired.
A few minor notes:
1) The title music in your demo repeats itself. In the original remake it plays only once.
2) Your picture is almost 100% pixel accurate, but a few pixels differ. I don't think it matters much. It's only noticable if you try hard to spot them.
3) The number '2' does not look like the same font as the number '1' from the original. To illustrate I popped up mspaint and drew what I believe looks more similiar to the '1' character, near the '1' character. I'm sorry for my poor mspaint skills ... :-) I bet you can find on the net a few webpages that has fonts to download, and search numbers that look like the the '1', and then use their '2' as a base for your game. The coloring you used btw looks just like the original.

Overall that's a great job, and I only try to help. You can completly ignore the above nonsense :-)
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on June 09, 2007, 04:32:11 PM
Thanks, Omer. I was trying to get the "2" to look as much like the "1" as possible. I looked everywhere for fonts but couldn't find one like the "1" from KQ1SCI. Your reference really helps, though. I appreciate it.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on May 04, 2010, 09:54:27 PM
I've actually done some work on this today! In its current state, the game is playable (in a very basic state) up to Dracula's castle. Currently you can acquire the candle, light it, go downstairs to the basement, grab the ham off the table, and acquire the tiara from the chest. I have yet to program in killing dracula and getting the keys, though.

So far I have no random encounters programmed into the game. Right now Red Riding Hood just stands next to a tree in one screen and isn't there anymore once you give her her basket and come back to the same screen again. I'm going to wait to program in all that fancy stuff until the game is completable from beginning to end.

After everything is programmed I'm going to concentrate on some better writing (right now I'm just copy+pasting from the AGI texts), then on to the background art, then sprites and animations, then music and sound effects. It's nice seeing the game playable this far, though, with the regular AGI animations.

Also, just to bring this thread up to date a bit, I've scrapped the arabic "2" for the title screen and thrown in the roman numeral instead. It was just too difficult. I decided to make it look more like King's Quest IV's title screen than King's Quest I's as a nice result. But it still has the same blue buttons from KQ1 underneath the title.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: Cloudee1 on May 04, 2010, 10:47:51 PM
Hey, I see Omer referenced a demo. Hows come you haven't uploaded one here yet?
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on May 04, 2010, 11:40:40 PM
Oh, it's not a playable demo. There's actually nothing to see. It's just the title screen with working buttons (that quit no matter which ones you press). No game data at all. I was just really excited that I got the title screen to work properly and wanted to show how much code goes into such a little thing.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on May 07, 2010, 04:58:51 PM
Been working the past few days. Dracula's castle is now completely playable. The only thing I haven't programmed is the poison brambles outside the castle. Partially because I haven't programmed the snake/winged horse yet.

I'm now programming in the beginning tower realm scenes. The fish part and all that. Before long the whole game will be completable. Then I just need to program in the fancy stuff. Then it's all artwork, something I'm looking forward to a little less than programming and scoring the music.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: Cloudee1 on May 08, 2010, 11:20:37 AM
So I'm not quite sure how I managed to find my way there, but I did...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sf09eXkZiNo

Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on May 08, 2010, 11:24:20 AM
Ah yes, that's my video. I posted it ages ago after the community went down. It's fairly old, though. I didn't have near as many things programmed in then and even the graphics have been touched up since. Maybe I should make a new video once a couple more backgrounds are complete. There's also a video of the new introduction sequence.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=goGXW2hzUVI (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=goGXW2hzUVI)
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: Cloudee1 on May 08, 2010, 11:27:41 AM
Did you use dosbox's video capture to make these or some other way?
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on May 08, 2010, 11:30:26 AM
Yes. I used the DOSBox codec to record this.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on May 09, 2010, 01:34:27 AM
Programmed all the way up to the lion at the top of the tower today. He's giving me a lot of grief. Programming his random roars requires a lot more code, scripts, and variables than I had originally anticipated. And now I'm running into a bug where he eats you even though he falls asleep.....but it just sits there and the code doesn't tell the game to go on to the death handler. Bizarre. I'm so tired right now, though. So I'll handle it another day...
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: Cloudee1 on May 09, 2010, 02:38:50 PM
Sounds like things are are coming right along.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on May 10, 2010, 10:15:46 AM
It's easy when you're using AGI placeholder graphics :). I'm not drawing in priority or control lines or anything. Just a few control colours for triggering events.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: Cloudee1 on May 10, 2010, 01:04:42 PM
Yeah I've started my own sci remake of an AGI game and ripping the pics definately moves things along. But I haven't decided yet if I'm going to redraw all the graphics really I'm just trying to make the game playable. In my opinion the original really isn't. But I'll announce more about it when I have more done.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on May 10, 2010, 02:15:27 PM
Interesting. Is it a remake of a fangame or a Sierra original?
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: Cloudee1 on May 10, 2010, 02:20:56 PM
One of Sierra's OLD games
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on May 10, 2010, 02:59:58 PM
Interesting...
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (in development)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on February 02, 2013, 12:24:53 AM
Ok, guys. It's been ages since I've worked on this. My life is getting busier and busier with family and my band's music. I'm not giving up on it, but I thought I should release it to the public in its current form. Maybe some of you other SCI developers can get a thing or two from it maybe (there's some pieces of code I've found from the old mega-tokyo boards and things I've long forgotten how I figured out how to do in there). I do want to continue working on it, but I want to keep it as a hobby thing. This is to ensure that I never just not finish it and not release anything. Enjoy it for what it is.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (unfinished - source released)
Post by: gumby on February 04, 2013, 10:29:15 PM
MI, thanks for this!  

Hey, if you ever get to a point where you feel like you can't/won't complete it, would you consider a community group-project to assist in finishing it?  Or perhaps you could hold mini-competitions to get small bits and pieces completed that you could then use within the game?
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (unfinished - source released)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on February 04, 2013, 11:41:28 PM
I've always been open to people helping out if they wanted to. But I haven't seen any interest. If anyone is willing to help out please do! I'll give you direction for where I was going with certain things and it would probably even motivate me to get some stuff done myself again. Before doing anything, I'd have to know there are those who'd want to contribute, though.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (unfinished - source released)
Post by: gumby on February 05, 2013, 09:52:55 PM
I'm interested.  Let me know how I can assist :).  Anyone else interested?  I think a mini comp would be a great way to get this kick started.
Title: Re: King's Quest II SCI Remake (unfinished - source released)
Post by: MusicallyInspired on February 06, 2013, 05:30:49 PM
I'd like to go ahead with this but I'm quite busy with packing and moving at the end of the month. Maybe we can pick it up next month. I'll have to re-evaluate where I was at and see what kind of community comp we can start off with.