Community

AGI Programming => AGI Syntax Help => Topic started by: Godzilla on June 08, 2014, 09:40:13 AM

Title: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 08, 2014, 09:40:13 AM
Hello guys. Here is my question: I have downloaded AGS 3.3.0, Win AGI, SCI Studio and SCI Companion on my laptop. (I deliberately missed Wintermute and Visionaire because I don't care about 3D characters and 3D high resolution backgrounds). My laptop runs Windows 8. As all of you , I always wanted to create an adventure game. My judge about using one of the above engines is based on the simplicity of the scripting language. Also, I want an engine to be easy to use by only one person, since my development team is consisted by only me. (in other words I don't care about fancy graphics, sound and animation). So, which program should I use? I think SCI and AGI engines have compatibility problems with my Windows 8 (after all it's normal cause they are old programs), something that doesn't happen in AGS 3.3.0. But AGS 3.3.0. has a very difficult scripting language (similar to C/C++) and I kinda HATE programming. I think SCI and AGI engines have more easy scripting language. Am I wrong? Also, I have NO previous experience in programming, even in BASIC. So, any suggestions would be REALLY helpful.
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 08, 2014, 01:05:16 PM
AGS would be the hardest to program in, but has the most modern IDE of the three. It also has the largest active user base.

You will probably find more help here with SCI and SCI is more flexible than AGI. Compatibility is no problem with DOSBox. I made a run utility that will start your project automatically in DOSBox from the run button in either Studio or companion. Though things have been slow here lately, there are people here that can help with scripting questions. Besides these forums, there are tools and tutorials here on the main site. There is also the SCI Programmers Wiki - http://sciwiki.sierrahelp.com/

Programming in AGI is by far the simplest. Though I have not done so, it should be possible to getting an AGI project to run in DOSBox automatically from the run button in the IDE. For a single developer AGI may well be the route to take. There have been a ton of single developer games made. I have just recently recovered a lot of AGI tools and documentation from the Wayback machine. You can find it here - http://agi.sierrahelp.com/ and the Wiki here - http://agiwiki.sierrahelp.com/

Good luck with whatever engine you use.
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Doan Sephim on June 08, 2014, 01:23:41 PM
When I started with SCI I also had no familiarity with any programming languages.

It took some getting used to, but I am now fairly decent at coding with SCI. As Collector pointed out, the forums here are a little slow these days, but I have also found that whenever I needed help with something, there were people here.

I have only worked with SCI, so I can't really comment on which one you should use. Good luck with your adventure!
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 09, 2014, 06:40:02 AM
Thank you both for your replies.

I decided since I am a total beginner to use the "WinAGI" game engine.

It's somehow easy to program for a non-programmer.

It's very easy and fast to create adventures for a single developer.

After all, as I already said, I don't care about fancy fonts, graphics, animations, videos, sounds and speech.

If I succeed to come up with some adventure games using WinAGI, I will -probably- move on to SCI programming.

I also understand that things in the forums are a little bit slow. That's okay.

One question: When I try to use a template (Game->New game->From template) I take the following message:

"The interperter version for this game does not match known Sierra versions. This is not a valid template directory".

What does it mean?
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 09, 2014, 12:21:28 PM
Probably the interpreter files are missing from the template folder. Be sure AGI, AGI.COM, AGIDATA.OVL, CGA_GRAF.OVL, EGA_GRAF.OVL, HGC_GRAF.OVL, HGC_OBJS.OVL, IBM_OBJS.OVL, JR_GRAF.OVL and VG_GRAF.OVL are in the folder.
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 09, 2014, 12:50:27 PM
Hmmm, when I open the directory "Templates" in the WinAGI directory, I see 4 sub directories: Version 2, Version2VB, Version3, Version3VB.
(Version2VB and Version 3VB stand for Visual Basic type of syntax)

Then, when I open -for example- Version2 template sub folder, I see the following set of files:
WORDS.TOK,
VOL.0,
VIEWDIR,
TEMPLT,
TEMPLT,
SNDDIR,
PICDIR,
OBJECT,
LOGDIR,
globals and
subdirectory named "Resources".


I use the "WinAGI GDS" ver 1.1.22 by Andrew Korson 2005 - 2007.

:)
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 09, 2014, 01:02:04 PM
You need to add the interpreter files. http://agi.sierrahelp.com/Tools/index.html#SierraAGI
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 09, 2014, 01:52:55 PM
I take the same message. :(
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 09, 2014, 03:25:47 PM
Unzip the "Sierra AGI Interpreter v2 936" download into the game's folder if you chose one of the v2 templates. If you chose v3, use the "Sierra AGI Interpreter v3 002 149" link. If you add the files to the template folders (Unzip "Sierra AGI Interpreter v2 936" in the Version 2 and Version2VB folders; unzip "Sierra AGI Interpreter v3 002 149" in the Version3 and Version3VB folders), they will be copied with the template the next time you start a new game from a template.
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 10, 2014, 08:24:07 AM
Yes, I did that. For example, my files in the subfolder "Version3" are the following:
WORDS.TOK
VOL.0
VIEWDIR
TEMPLT
TEMPLT
SNDDIR
PICDIR
OBJECT
LOGDIR
globals.txt
AGI.EXE
AGIDATA.OVL
CGA_GRAF.OVL
EGA_GRAF.OVL
HGC_GRAF.OVL
HGC_OBJS.OVL
IBM_OBJS.OVL
JR_GRAF.OVL
VG_GRAF.OVL
and the subdirectory, named "Resources"...... but still doesn't work :)

anyway, IS that something important, in case I will never manage to use the templates?

If I try to make a game from scratch will that affect my game????
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 10, 2014, 09:06:02 AM
:D :D I can't believe it. I chose to make a new game from blank. I opened the logic window and.......I just realized that the letters are sooooo small, i can't even see them. I tried to use the magnifier but the problem is not solved. Furthermore, I see no button to enlarge the font size. :D

(I think this is the way of my laptop to say....."Man, use Adventure Game Studio, not this program!!!" :D :D :D)
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 10, 2014, 02:46:42 PM
Control + mouse wheel will increase the size of the font.

I an not sure why you would still be getting errors. Perhaps something is corrupted. Replace the "Version2" and "Version3" folders in the Templates folder with the ones in the zip and then try to create a new game from the template.

By the way, avoid the "Version2VB" and "Version3VB" templates. They use a scripting like VB. This will cripple you when you try to move on to programming in other engines.
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 11, 2014, 09:37:01 AM
Thanks for the reply. Yesterday night I found another way to enlarge the font size. Ctrl+Shift+< or >.

As for the Visual Basic syntax I wasn't planning to use it at all.

But I am still worrying about the templates. Anyway, my question is: Will that "problem" affect any future game I will create (from a blank project)?

Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 11, 2014, 02:13:13 PM
I don't think you will want to start from a blank. Without more experience there is too much that you would have to recreate. BTW, am I to assume that you dropped the interpreter files in your game's folder, too? Have you tried a new from template since you added the files to the template folders? Have you tried the version 2 template?
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 11, 2014, 03:30:58 PM
How can I sent/show pictures (.jpeg) in here?
I have made 8 "prtScrn" images of my monitor screen so you would be able to see what I can see and maybe you can explain me better what I have to do, because -although I am a native Greek- all these ..... look Greek to me. :D :D
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 11, 2014, 05:20:33 PM
although I am a native Greek- all these ..... look Greek to me. :D :D

It's not Greek, it is "Geek" ;)

Anyway, you need to use the full editor, not the quick reply at the bottom. Click the "Reply button at the bottom of the last post.
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 12, 2014, 01:09:10 AM
Okay, using "picture 1, picture 2, picture 3 etc, explain me WHAT do I have to COPY and WHERE in order things to work.

(BTW, I uninstalled everything from WinAGI and made a new fresh install)
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 12, 2014, 01:10:26 AM
5 pictures yet....
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 12, 2014, 01:11:33 AM
2 pictures yet....
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 12, 2014, 01:13:07 AM
finished....
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 12, 2014, 02:05:18 AM
Go to http://agi.sierrahelp.com/Tools/index.html#SierraAGI and download the links:

"Sierra AGI Interpreter v2 936 (ZIP file) [30.5 KB]"
"Sierra AGI Interpreter v3 002 149 (ZIP file) [29.2 KB]"

You will have two files, "Sierra_AGI_Interpreter_v2_936.zip" and "Sierra_AGI_Interpreter_v3_002_149.zip"


Open "Sierra_AGI_Interpreter_v2_936.zip" and drop all of the files inside it into the "C:\Program Files (x86)\WinAGI GDS\Templates\Version2" folder.

Open "Sierra_AGI_Interpreter_v3_002_149.zip" and drop all of the files inside it into the "C:\Program Files (x86)\WinAGI GDS\Templates\Version3" folder.

You can safely delete the "Version2VB" and "Version3VB" folders.

Open "DOSBoxRun.zip" from below and add the contents to both of the two folders above.

The Version2 folder should now have the Resources folder and:

HGC_FONT
LOGDIR
OBJECT
PICDIR
SNDDIR
VIEWDIR
VOL.0
DOSBOX.BAT
dosbox.conf
AGI.EXE
Conf.exe
RUN.EXE
GAME.INI
RUN.INI
AGIDATA.OVL
CGA_GRAF.OVL
EGA_GRAF.OVL
HGC_GRAF.OVL
HGC_OBJS.OVL
IBM_OBJS.OVL
JR_GRAF.OVL
VG_GRAF.OVL
WORDS.TOK
globals.txt
TEMPLT.wag
TEMPLT.wal

The Version3 folder should now have the Resources folder and:

OBJECT
TEMPLDIR
TEMPLVOL.0
DOSBOX.BAT
dosbox.conf
AGI.EXE
Conf.exe
RUN.EXE
GAME.INI
RUN.INI
AGIDATA.OVL
CGA_GRAF.OVL
EGA_GRAF.OVL
HGC_GRAF.OVL
JR_GRAF.OVL
VG_GRAF.OVL
WORDS.TOK
globals.txt
TEMPL.wag
TEMPL.wal

Go to http://www.dosbox.com/download.php?main=1 and download the Windows version of DOSBox. Install it into its default location (C:\Program Files (x86)\DOSBox-0.74)


You are now ready to start a game. In WinAGI, go to "Game" > "New Game" > "From Template" and choose "Version2". Select a folder for your new game outside of either Program Files directories, say in a new folder in your Documents folder and click OK.

Once the new game is open, go to "Game" > "Properties". Click the browse button for the "Game Executable" and select "RUN.EXE" inside of the game's folder.

You will have a new game ready for you to begin developing. Clicking the run button will automatically start the game in DOSBox so you can test your work.
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 12, 2014, 03:22:55 PM
Collector, I followed your instructions line by line. The result is the same. Here are the photos to prove it. Anyway, I am bored and tired of AGI. I will turn to AGS. Thank you very much for everything.
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 12, 2014, 04:42:29 PM
I am not sure what might be going on. It may be some Win8 specific thing. It works on my Win7 with no issue. One thing that I am curious about is that yours shows a Template1. AGI 1 is very rare and that should not be there. Where did you download WinAGI? I am pretty sure you grabbed a bad copy. Perhaps some old beta build? Uninstall it and try the one from here:

http://agi.sierrahelp.com/IDEs/WinAGI.html
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Godzilla on June 13, 2014, 09:45:55 AM
Anyway, maybe it's cause of Win8 problem. I really don't know. I really don't care anymore. :)


I have a stupid question: King's Quest V was released in 2 versions. EGA and VGA. Both used the same, 320x200, resolution. The first with 16 colors and the second with 256 colors. But.......why the art in the EGA version of King's Quest V is MUCH better than in for example, King's Quest IV, since both use the same resolution and the same number of colors? Is that something I don't understand OR it was just a matter of choice and artists' capabilities?
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: Collector on June 15, 2014, 05:49:23 PM
Different interpreters. KQ5 is SCI1 while KQ4 is SCI0. In fact, KQ4 is the very first SCI game. For KQ5 the PIC images for the EGA version are simply a reduction of the palette of the VGA version. There are some abandoned resources in KQ5 VGA that have more traditional EGA PIC resources used in earlier interpreters.

As to WinAGI, there are other IDEs that you can use that don't have the compatibility issues that WinAGI has. Nailhead's AGI Studio seems to work with fewer issues, but is missing a PIC editor. You can use the Java port of PiEdit or you can use the Visual AGI PIC editor.

http://agiwiki.sierrahelp.com/index.php?title=AGI_Studio
http://agiwiki.sierrahelp.com/index.php?title=Visual_AGI
http://agiwiki.sierrahelp.com/index.php?title=PICEDIT
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: MusicallyInspired on October 29, 2014, 11:15:32 PM
I know this is old. I'm just going through my old bookmarks and was rediscovering this place and was extremely happy to find that it's not dead here yet! I miss SCI-ing...

Anyway, there's also QT AGI Studio (aka Linux AGI Studio for Windows) which has a built-in Picture resource editor.

http://agistudio.sourceforge.net/
Title: Re: N00b here.....
Post by: AGKorson on March 12, 2017, 05:34:12 PM
Anyway, maybe it's cause of Win8 problem. I really don't know. I really don't care anymore. :)


I have a stupid question: King's Quest V was released in 2 versions. EGA and VGA. Both used the same, 320x200, resolution. The first with 16 colors and the second with 256 colors. But.......why the art in the EGA version of King's Quest V is MUCH better than in for example, King's Quest IV, since both use the same resolution and the same number of colors? Is that something I don't understand OR it was just a matter of choice and artists' capabilities?

Hi there. If you're still around, and still interested in WinAGI, I am the creator. I've been away from the AGI scene for a long time, only recently having been poking around it again.

The problem with templates not loading was a bug that is related to Windows Local Settings (users formatting numbers with '.' for thousands, and ',' for decimal point). I used actual numbers to reference version numbers, converted to strings, so if you write 2.917 as 2,917 in your locale, WinAGI would hiccup. You can work around that by manually copying the template file you want into your new working directory and then opening it.

I fixed that bug years ago, but never got around to releasing it. I've been playing around with it recently, and will probably be releasing an update soon which solves that (and a few other bugs that were in the last release). I've tested it on a Windows10 box and it seems to run just fine.

If you have any questions about WinAGI, send me a msg or post in the forums here!