Community

SCI Programming => SCI Development Tools => Topic started by: ZvikaZ on June 30, 2021, 07:39:55 AM

Title: GK1: strange error after compilation, without any changes
Post by: ZvikaZ on June 30, 2021, 07:39:55 AM
Hi.

In GK1 (GoG version), I've decompiled all scripts, and then recompiled script #22 (GKNarrator.sc) without any modifications. Then, I've exported the .scr and .hep files, put them in a clean game directory, and it miserably fails upon loading in ScummVM (as Dos) with:

Code: [Select]
Invalid species 169(0xa9) unknown max 169(0xa9) while instantiating script 22!
I've tried both with Kawa's 3.2.3.2, and with Phil's last version.
In Kawa's version, I got two warnings, which I ignored:
Code: [Select]
Warning: (GKNarrator.sc) Duplicate case values. Already encountered a case for '18'  Line: 90, col: 5
Warning: (GKNarrator.sc) Instance 'talkPlane' is not used anywhere.  Line: 167, col: 9
While in Phil's version the 'case' think is an error - so I've commented that line.

Any ideas?
Title: Re: GK1: strange error after compilation, without any changes
Post by: MusicallyInspired on June 30, 2021, 09:26:25 AM
Two things. SCI Companion's decompilation isn't perfect. Also, because GK1 uses a higher version than SCI1.1 it isn't really supported for compiling.
Title: Re: GK1: strange error after compilation, without any changes
Post by: ZvikaZ on July 01, 2021, 12:54:39 AM
Two things. SCI Companion's decompilation isn't perfect. Also, because GK1 uses a higher version than SCI1.1 it isn't really supported for compiling.
Ok, that makes sense.
It's interesting though, that I've successfully compiled few other scripts. But that's probably some luck.
Or maybe, I'm not aware yet of the problems with those scripts  :)
Title: Re: GK1: strange error after compilation, without any changes
Post by: lskovlun on July 02, 2021, 02:55:54 PM
If all you want is to mess around with the GK1 class library, I guess you could grab the demo and work with that. It's SCI1.1.
Title: Re: GK1: strange error after compilation, without any changes
Post by: ZvikaZ on July 04, 2021, 03:43:30 AM
If all you want is to mess around with the GK1 class library, I guess you could grab the demo and work with that. It's SCI1.1.
Actually, our team has translated GK1 to Hebrew, and I want to fix few issues with right alignment of the text, and re-compile few scripts that have text strings hard wired inside them (as we've done to SQ3 and QFG1VGA).
Surprisingly, I've successfully compiled one script (64915 - DText.sc), and that solved the right alignment of the regular messages. When I tried to handle the right alignment of the "Interrogation" dialogs, things got weird, and that's why I've opened this thread.

Now I wonder, is it OK to use my compiled DText, or maybe it's a "ticking bomb", because it shouldn't really work?
Title: Re: GK1: strange error after compilation, without any changes
Post by: OmerMor on July 04, 2021, 05:00:26 AM
Zvika, maybe consider working with the script disassemblies instead of decompiled source?
Title: Re: GK1: strange error after compilation, without any changes
Post by: ZvikaZ on July 04, 2021, 05:39:07 AM
Zvika, maybe consider working with the script disassemblies instead of decompiled source?
Interesting idea - I thought about patching the .scr files.
However, that's a good point - is it possible to use SCICompanion to disasm/asm SCI2 scripts? (and SCI3 scripts?)
Title: Re: GK1: strange error after compilation, without any changes
Post by: lskovlun on July 04, 2021, 05:01:56 PM
EricOakford's new comment in the other thread pretty much settles it, doesn't it? If the KQ7 demo can be compiled from scratch, then with some huffing and puffing, GK1 should as well. I dunno why GKNarrator is broken.