Author Topic: SCI EGA - View Drawing, Tools, and Technique Questions  (Read 4241 times)

Offline NilG

SCI EGA - View Drawing, Tools, and Technique Questions
« on: December 26, 2018, 12:06:58 AM »
Hi all, I had a couple of questions as I'm just starting to dip my toes into this world.  I am hoping to build up a parser-based EGA game similar to the ones I loved way back when (and still), and I've been looking into/playing around with SCI Companion V3.  I've got half of the game "written" and plotted, so wanted to start looking at the options to implement it, and so far things are pretty clear pic and scriptwise.

One thing I've been having a lot of difficulty with, though, is creating the Views/Backgrounds.  Probably doesn't help that I'm no visual artist, but I've been making some progress playing with the vector-based tools and checking out what Sierra's awesome artists could pull off with the form.  I don't draw really goodly on paper to create trace images, unfortunately, although I'm starting to wonder if it would be quicker to learn to do that over creating backgrounds the way I currently am.

So I had a couple of questions regarding functionality which I think could hugely improve my productivity here, but I'm not sure if they're possible.  If they are, though, I'd love to know.

1)  Probably the biggest question I have it whether there is a way to edit an existing line/point.  For example, if I want to go back and tweak/fix/move the coordinates to a line with a numeric entry in the command list (rather than deleting a line's command and redrawing it), I think that would be hugely more efficient for me.  To just change the numbers and have the new vector visually show in the main screen would be awesome for figuring things out and experimenting until things look right.